SET AUTOSAVE

Controls flushing of modified records to disk.

Syntax

SET AUTOSAVE ON|OFF

Comments

When executing commands that change the contents of the application database, the software does not necessarily have to commit changes to disk immediately. The SET AUTOSAVE command helps determine when changes are committed.

The AUTOSAVE option is set ON by default.

When AUTOSAVE is ON, all modified records are written to disk immediately. By setting AUTOSAVE OFF, you specify that modified records are to be written to disk only when they are removed from the software's internal buffers or when the application session is terminated. As a result, update commands (ADD, CHANGE, DELETE) are processed more quickly. However, abnormal termination of the application session (e.g., power failure) can leave some updates in an uncommitted state.

The SET AUTOSAVE command has no effect in multi-user systems, where transaction processing determines commitment to disk.